Where I am with Not Running and #adayinthelife

Today on Twitter, I am using the #adayinthelife hashtag to chronicle what my non-running butt does on a Friday like today.  I hope if you are interested you will follow along and maybe even join in!  You can find me at @rachmleg.  I will do a round-up of all the tweets on the blog tomorrow, and if you join in and shoot me a message, I will link-up your #adayinthelife in that post!


 

On Not Running

I haven’t run since two Wednesdays ago, so it has been nine days.  A week ago, I wrote that I was hurt but didn’t care because I didn’t really want to be running anyway and was sick of being a “serious” runner and training for races.  I wrote that I would be much happier only running when I felt like it, possibly a few miles a few times a week and something a bit longer on the weekends occasionally.

There is a local running group on Facebook and Meetup that does several social runs a week.  I really want to participate in those, and this past Tuesday, I had plans to go to their Pub Run.  However, it ended up being 90 degrees and my feet still hurt, so I had to pass.  I also wanted to do a for-fun 5k this coming Sunday, but I doubt my feet are going to feel up to it.  I’m not getting my hopes up too high.

So that’s where I am right now.  My mental “injury” is past and I’m ready to run again, albeit completely differently.  I’m ready to run in a relaxed, social environment with little to no pressure.  Unfortunately, my feet are still giving me problems, so I can’t really say I don’t care anymore.

My feet actually tend to feel really good when I wake up in the mornings, which is confusing!  (The pain is in the back and inside of both my arches.)  Yesterday morning, I had a few extra minutes before work, so I thought I would try running for just ten minutes.  It became a walk around my block because my feet did not feeling good running down my street.

I am enjoying not running, just as much as I would enjoy running.  I’m not depressed about not being able to run, it’s not stressing me out, and I have more time for other things, like finishing my 1000-piece puzzle!

Finished last night!

Finished last night!

So, I’m still happy but would love to not have pain!!

3 thoughts on “Where I am with Not Running and #adayinthelife

  1. I hope the pain goes away soon hun! It sounds like you have some fun things you want to do, so I hope the foot/lower legs heal quick so you can get to it 🙂 I like socializing in running…makes it a lot more fun and takes the pressure off!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Day in the Life: January 2015 | Rach Runs Her Mouth

Leave a Reply

