My Last College Summer

Yesterday (Wednesday) at 11:30am, I walked out of the last final exam of my senior year of college.  Commencement (i.e. graduation) is in the Big House in two days.  I will be there… in the audience proudly watching many of my friends graduate and move on with their lives.  I will be at the university as a student for one more semester, working nearly full-time while taking a very light course-load to finish up my requirements for graduation.

I made the decision to be a December grad last year in the fall.  I was enrolled in a prereq course for a higher-level class I would need to take to finish my minor.  Mentally, I just wasn’t ready to take that class.  Sitting with the first major assignment in front of me, I couldn’t even imagine starting it.  I dropped the class and took it during the semester that I just finished, instead.  This semester, I enjoyed it and got a B. 🙂

Because of that, I have one more class I need to take to finish my degree requirements, but I wasn’t able to take it earlier than next fall semester, so I will graduate in December.  And I am okay with that.  It means I get one more college summer.

I work full-time during the summers, but like my boss said, as a student I can just take a day off if I want a long weekend, whereas once I’m a “real” employee, I won’t be able to do that.  My schedule is flexible, my coworkers are great, and I get so much more free time because I don’t have to do homework every night!  Ann Arbor is quieter in the summer and the weather is beautiful.  Lots of my friends will still be around, too.

One thing I will miss about the school year is my meal plan.  I bought an off-campus meal plan last semester so that I could eat in the dorms, which saved me lots of time because I didn’t have to cook or go grocery shopping nearly as frequently.  It also meant there were always healthy options available when I didn’t have time to cook, instead of eating a ton of fast food like I did the semester before.

Now that the school year is over, it’s bye-bye meal plan!  I do want to get more into cooking, so I guess now is the perfect time. 🙂  I’m planning to go grocery shopping sometime in the next two days, so I want to plan out some recipes to make for the upcoming week so I can make a shopping list.  Let me know if you have any recipe suggestions!!  I do eat meat, but I am down for anything–I love vegetarian and vegan options, too.  My only restrictions are that I don’t have a slow cooker nor a food processor (I have a blender though!).  Anyway, I will look around for some recipes, but if you have any suggestions, please leave them in the comments. 🙂

One thought on “My Last College Summer

Leave a Reply

