Training(ish) Recap: Week of 4/14-4/20/2014

This week was all about my hip feeling like crap.  I got really down on myself, but the last couple days I have been able to rest more than normal with it being the weekend and me not having to do much walking.  It feels like resting has really helped!  The end of the semester is here and I have exams and projects the next two weeks, with the most challenging ones over by this coming Friday.  I don’t see myself having much time to do anything but code and study this coming week, so I think I should get in some more excellent rest and come out of it feeling ready to enjoy this beautiful weather. 🙂  With running.  Or even pain-free walking.  Whaaat a concept!

My cross-training kind of petered off by the end of the week, but I really do think rest is helping more than cross-training was.  I swam on Saturday for the first time in months, though, and I do want to get myself feeling much more comfortable in the water (I gulp air and give myself tummy-aches 😦 ), so I might see if I can fit in a couple swims next week.  Even two workouts before Friday might be a stretch though if I want to do well on exams, which I do.

Without further ado, my “training”!

Monday: 40 minutes on the elliptical followed by pushups and hip strengthening

Tuesday: 45 minutes elliptical, core, negative pull-ups, lat pulldowns – with a couple friends in the morning 🙂

Wednesday: Off (I had to walk a lot though)

Thursday: 30 minutes elliptical, core, woodchoppers, pushups, goblet squats, dumbbell rows, plus foam rolling

Friday: Foam rolling, 15 minutes elliptical, then I didn’t want to be on the elliptical so I went to Matt’s house and had ice cream.

Saturday: 38ish minute swim (short breaks included) – kickboard and pull-buoy practice with a few laps of freestyle at the end (and two random backstroke laps at the very beginning)

Sunday: Off (coding all day)

I started taking ibuprofen for my hip on Thursday and I took it a few times Thursday and Friday and once Saturday.  I don’t know if it helps the healing process, but the doctor usually tells me to take it and it definitely makes things feel happier in there.  I didn’t take any today, but I’ll probably take some tomorrow just in the morning for when I have to walk to/from class.

Takeaways from this past week: I underestimated the value of rest and now I get to rest more because of exams.

Matt says I’m “under construction.”  I kind of like that. 🙂

How was your week?  I hope you had a happy Easter or just a happy spring day!

One thought on “Training(ish) Recap: Week of 4/14-4/20/2014

Leave a Reply

