Fitness Personality: “The Thinker”

One of my friends posted this short fitness personality test on Facebook and I was bored so I took it.  It’s really an advertisement to get people to participate in the “Rewired Trainer” program Bodybuilding.com is hosting soon, but it was a fun little quiz regardless, and I can see the results applying to running as opposed to just weight training.

It says that I am “The Thinker,” which I think is pretty accurate.  You can view the whole “thinker” results sheet here if you want.  Essentially, it says I am analytical and prone to being a bit too ambitious, impatient, and a perfectionist.  All of those things are 100% me, especially as I think about what happened to put me on the sidelines again.  (My best guess is I was overeager… again…)

“You’re great at taking a lofty goal, doing the necessary research and footwork, and tackling it step by step. Unfortunately, you can also be your own worst enemy at times.”

Like my own worst enemy to get myself hurt when I do too much at once to try to reach a lofty goal!  Yes that sounds like me!

You tend to be a perfectionist in the gym, both for better and worse. You have a great plan, but the reality is that things don’t always go according to the plan!”

Yuuuup.  Two weeks ago, I planned out the rest of my running weeks leading up to the Bayshore Half Marathon on May 24th.  Last week when my hip was uncomfortable, I took three days off and then thought, “okay that’s enough, it’s not much better but I need to get as close to my mileage goal for the week as possible.”  Maybe I should leave the plans alone for a while…

It gives me this advice:

Slowing down. Everybody knows the saying about
the journey and the destination. For the next two
months, you’re going to really focus on enjoying
your time in the gym and opening yourself to the
experience of training rather than just the results.

I mean, I’m not following their gym training program, but the concept of enjoying the training journey instead of just focusing on the end goal is something I’ve actually been focusing more on in the last couple months since I started running again after my foot problem during the winter.  My problem is maybe I get a little TOO into the training journey sometimes and train too hard and end up on the elliptical for days. xD

Ibuprofen, stretching, foam rolling, and strengthening seem to be helping my hip at least marginally.  Using the elliptical feels totally normal, so I just kind of pretend like I’m running and it’s more mentally manageable.  It’s a bummer on a beautiful day like yesterday, but it has only been five days since I last ran, which I guess isn’t really that much, and hopefully I will be back outside soon. 🙂

What’s your fitness personality?

One thought on “Fitness Personality: “The Thinker”

Leave a Reply

