Training Recap: Week of 4/7 – 4/13/2014

I went back down a bit in mileage last week because my right hip has been bugging me since about a week ago.  It sometimes just feels really tight and uncomfortable, sometimes hurts, and sometimes feels almost normal.  All the muscles surrounding my hip socket feel pretty tight and/or sore, so I’m paying more attention to stretching long and often.  Running has been a little uncomfortable, but not painful.  I have a feeling that if I tried to run today though, that it would hurt, so I will not be running while it still feels like that!

So this is what last week looked like:

Monday: 3.49mi at running club practice (afternoon)

Tuesday: off due to my hip feeling really tight

Wednesday: biked to and from work (about 2 miles/20 minutes each way and relatively hilly), otherwise off

Thursday: walked a little over 3mi late at night with a couple friends.  Hip felt annoying, like kinda itchy inside?

Friday: 4.03mi in the morning.  I could feel my hip, but it wasn’t painful.  Wore heels in the evening for prom and it pretty much felt okay.

Saturday: long run 7.01mi.  I was very dehydrated and also probably ran harder than I should have.  I don’t think my hip felt any worse though.  Walked a couple miles with Matt and his dog later and that felt like it loosened up my hip some.

Sunday: 3.13mi in the morning, without coffee or food.  I felt very sluggish and this was a struggle.  I started feeling some twinges of pain in the outside of my hip in the afternoon, where previously all the discomfort had been on the inside or front.  Which means now I’m worried and kind of regretting this run.  I knew less than halfway through that I didn’t feel recovered from Saturday and should have backed off, but I didn’t and I forced myself through it.

Total running for the week: 17.66mi

This morning (Monday) walking to class, the outside of my hip hurt, but walking more slowly to the bus stop afterwards, I had no pain.  I will be cross training on the bike today, and any runs I do this week will be SLOWWWW and EASY.  I’m obviously still trying to learn where my body draws the line between tightness and injury, and I don’t want to cross the line yet again to find out.  Patience will make me better in the long run.

Hah, long run, get it?

Have you figured out where your body draws the line?  How many injuries did it take you?  Because this is getting ridiculous.

4 thoughts on “Training Recap: Week of 4/7 – 4/13/2014

  1. Pingback: Mini #WIAW and Hip Update | Rach Runs Her Mouth

Leave a Reply

