The World’s Best Birthday Present

Or, “The Best Present I Ever Received But Was Ungrateful for As an 11-Year-Old Shithead.”

Turning 11 was a traumatic experience for me.  I cried because I thought it was the “last” year of being “young”.  Because 12 is almost a teenager and by that point you aren’t even a kid anymore.  I really actually cried.

So for some reason that birthday was especially memorable and I remember a couple of the gifts I got that year.  One was a pink and purple layering shirt set that my mom got me from Old Navy:

Definitely not 11 here. But I’m wearing my birthday present. 12 or 13 sitting atop Whiteface Mountain in Lake Placid, NY. 🙂

The other was… a yellow yoga mat.  I was figure skating competitively at the time, and my mom told her sister that I needed a yoga mat for yoga-ish things.  So my mom drove me to some parking lot somewhere where we met up with my aunt who gave me a yellow yoga mat.  I was gracious, but I was pretty disappointed.  I didn’t think I needed it and I certainly didn’t want it.  Not for my birthday, anyway.

Well, I’ll tell you what, that thing is the gift that just keeps on giving.  Even though I don’t do yoga, I still get so much use out of it.  I used to bring it to skating to unroll on the floor and use for my warmups.  It went unused for a while once I quit, but the last few years it has been getting lots of use as a mat for core and stretching at home.  I even did actual yoga on it a few times.  I still don’t like yoga though.  So not much yoga happens on that mat.  But some.

Planking on my best birthday gift ever after a run a couple weeks ago

Planking on my best birthday gift ever after a run a couple weeks ago

Not sure what is happening here but I found this picture in my phone.  Probably thought it felt squishy.

Not sure what is happening here but I found this picture in my phone. Probably thought it felt squishy and sent this pic to some poor someone.

I also love that it’s yellow.  I don’t see many yellow yoga mats.  It’s nice. 🙂

So yes.  I love my yoga mat.  Even though I hated it 10 years ago.  It is amazing now and I’m so very grateful for it.  Thanks Aunt!

Have you ever gotten a gift you still use years later?

3 thoughts on “The World’s Best Birthday Present

Leave a Reply

