75 Thoughts Some Runners Have Sometimes

I saw this article on my friend’s Facebook wall the other day and it has been going around the Internet a bit I guess because I’ve seen it like three more times since then.  It’s a BuzzFeed article called 75 Thoughts Every Runner Has While Out For A Run.  Ooo let’s see, I’m a runner, I like running, I like BuzzFeed’s uncannily relatable list articles… *clicks*

NOPE NOPE NOPE.

I think the article should be titled “75 Thoughts Some Runners Have Sometimes” or “75 Thoughts Every Person Forcing Themselves To Run Because They Think They Have To Has While Out For A Run.”

Case in point:

54. Honestly, I don’t even like running.
55. Why do I even run?
56. Why does anyone even run?

To be fair, those are among only a few points that actually make it seem like this person doesn’t like running.  But there are others, like #71, “Yep, definitely ordering first. I earned that shit” (talking about ordering pizza) that suggest this person runs because she feels like she HAS TO run.  Because that is the only way to stay in shape/eat pizza.  Since evidently she doesn’t actually LIKE running based on 54-56 above and how her last point is, “I guess running’s not so bad.”  Not SOOO bad.  But still a little bad.  Okay.

I have been rediscovering the joy of running since starting up again about nine weeks ago after an injury.  So I guess I take this article a little too much to heart.  It’s just supposed to be a funny list.  But it just makes it sound like running is no fun at all.

Or maybe I’m miffed because supposedly “every” runner has these thoughts so are you, BuzzFeed Author Person, telling me that I am not a runner because I don’t necessarily agree with all these things?

Whatever.

Maybe the author will take a page from her own book and do #19: “Mental reminder: Google CrossFit when I get home.”  Then maybe she will learn about other activities that she might, gasp, ENJOY, that can also make her feel good about eating pizza.  Because no one should ever feel bad about eating pizza.

What do you think?  Just a funny article, or does some of it bug you?  Am I reading way too far into it?

4 thoughts on “75 Thoughts Some Runners Have Sometimes

  1. I agree completely. I only read the first few points and skimmed the rest before getting annoyed because they obviously force themselves to run rather than enjoying the run for what it is. And 75 thoughts in one 5 mile run? Please, if you’re running for the enjoyment of it, you’re not thinking constantly of how bad the run is. Even on my worst day I work on distracting myself with thoughts other than running.

    Like

    • Yes!! Or like Matt said, “If I think ‘this run sucks,’ next I think ‘why does this run suck?'” As in, trying to find reasons why it doesn’t feel as good as usual instead of whining about how it feels.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t read the article because I know a lot of the reasons will totally be off base for me – plus, since I can’t run right now, it just makes me sad to hear about people forcing the self to do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

